The Journey Begins

So we begin. Not just a new blog, but a new chapter in our lives. About three years ago, we decided that we wanted to pursue our dream of owning and operating a bed and breakfast. We knew that we didn’t want just any house; it had to have some historic significance. We both love history and have always wanted to preserve it. We started by taking small weekend trips to different parts of Virginia and visiting historic sites and bed and breakfast homes. After about one year, a pattern started to emerge. That’s when we started narrowing our search area.

After another year of looking, we seemed to be hitting a wall. We visited some beautiful homes. But when we pulled in, we always seem to find something that didn’t click. Either it had too much repair work that needed to be done, or it didn’t have a large enough area for events like weddings. Or it was too far from anything. Or one of us would like it, but the other just couldn’t see us there. It got frustrating very quickly.

Then one day, while I was searching the internet for a bed and breakfast for sale, I came across an ad for a historic home. It would have been easy to miss it if I had not been paying attention. But as soon as I saw it, I knew it was right. I quickly got on the phone and we made an appointment to see it two days later. That was July 12, 2011.

When we drove into the driveway, I could feel my heart racing. I had seen extra pictures of the home that the property manager sent via email. I was just hoping it would be everything we had hoped for. Boy we were in for a huge surprise. It was everything and more. As we walked the floors and viewed the rooms, I could already see us there, entertaining guests and greeting visitors. It has been pain stakingly restored and the history spans from the late 1600s. And it is a plantation. This was the one.

And so the journey began. We have been working over the last ten months to put together a business plan that would reach the standards of this house. We have spent countless hours researching other bed and breakfast businesses, researching the history of the home and area (which there is a ton of), visiting local businesses and planning out what we wanted for our bed and breakfast. We are now in the final stage of preparing to sign contracts and taking a giant leap into business ownership. We know that once we sign the contract, all the work and waiting will seem like nothing compared to the mad rush that will follow. But we are ready for it. We know we are heading in the right direction and have many family and friends that have been and will continue to support and encourage us.

So this blog is to document our journey. During our research into the history of this home, we have learned documentation is very import to preserve the past. That is what this is all about. At this point, we are not able to reveal the name of the property or its location until everything is signed. But believe us; you will be amazed at this home, property and its important place in history. We can’t wait to share it with you!

386 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

  1. Pam says:

    That is totally awesome. Keep up the good work. I love old buildings. They have the most amazing feeling of history and place. I like to imagine what is going on inside, all the peopel that have lived in them.

  2. I am excited for both of you and woish nothing but the best for you. Good Luck!! and thanks for sharing all of this with us.

  3. coastingnz says:

    Your b&b looks awesome – quite the undertaking and I wish you all the very best!

  4. Sarah Jordan says:

    What a beautiful place! Thanks for liking my blog.

    http://www.hoopingbysarah.com

  5. Thank you for visiting my blog. I will be interested to follow your progress with the new business, We have a big history of bed and breakfasts in England and I love historical buildings, have done a lot of my family history which involves USA,Canada,Poland, France and hope to follow their journey some time. enjoy your new journey and good luck with it. I just did a post on Highclere House, of Downton Abbey fame if you would like to read it.

  6. Sarah says:

    Wow….this is a whole new idea of bed and breakfast

  7. Thank you for liking our blog. We think you have a very interesting house. Mom explained to us what a bed and breakfast is and of course anything that involves food is going to capture Shakespeare’s attention. Good luck on an exciting adventure. We hope all your dreams come true.

  8. Best wishes on your big adventure! Maybe I can stop in to see the progress next time I visit my brother in Williamsburg.

  9. Absolutely love this. Such a beautiful place to have a bed and breakfast. Larger than one would expect and on such a beautiful piece of property too. I think I may have to take a trip to Virginia just to stay there. Good luck with the business. I am sure you will do very well.

  10. Thank you for visiting my blog. Your project sounds like an incredibly exciting undertaking, and Virginia is a wonderful place to do this sort of thing–so much history, beautiful surroundings, proximity to DC, all of it. Best of luck!!

    • Thank you! We look forward to seeing more of your blog! We love it here in Virginia. There is just so much history just around the corner! We hope you will join us on the wonderful journey as we bring this plantation back to life!

  11. Susan LaDue says:

    What an absolutely breathtaking house! Your painstaking preparation is impressive and your courage inspiring. I can’t wait for more posts to see how things unfold. Wishing you all good things.

    • Thank you so much and thank you for joining us in the wonderful journey! We are excited by each and every turn!

      Please check out Hurley too and his mission as we move towards our goal in our campaign. If you can’t donate, you can still help by visiting the Indiegogo site. We get merit points for every visit which moves us up in the rankings and could get us on the home page. You can also share our campaign on blogs and facebook. Thank you for anything you can do!

      Brett, Michelle, Hurley and Mille the Cat

  12. jamochanme says:

    Thank you for reading my blog! The B&B looks absolutely gorgeous! I am an avid traveler, and would love to be updated on your progress!!

    • My pleasure! We’ve got a long way to go (at least 120 days just for zoning…), but we will be documenting our progress on the blog, so if you check in periodically, we’ll keep you up to date. Thank you for your encouragement and support!

  13. joe juliano says:

    Holy cow, what’s not to like here. If I ever buy a loto ticket and win, count me in. :-)

    • Thank you! You can buy a few raffle tickets we are offering by donating to our indiegogo site and have a chance to win a two day weekend stay! $10 dollars gets you two, $25 gets you five and $100 gets you 20! And it goes to help us restore our out buildings that date back to 1790!

  14. joiez says:

    I grew up in, Lexington, Virginia. LOVE, Virginia. When I win the lottery, or start selling my photography and can sustain a living – I’m going home to Virginia. Good luck and I look forward to reading about your journey. :) And thank you for visiting my blog. Come back anytime – we’re open 24/7. Namaste, Joie

    • Thank you! We can’t wait to see more of yours! And we hope you will come back to Virginia soon! You know if you make a donation to our campaign, you could win a free weekend at the plantation! $10 gets you 2 tickets $25 gets you 5 tickets. And $100 gets you 20 tickets! And it goes to a good cause! We are trying to save our historic dependences. They are 220 years old.

  15. Jerry says:

    Awesome! I look forward to following your blog. I’m from Virginia originally and my mother still lives in Hot Springs, maybe we could hook up the next time I’m in the state? Blessings, Jerry Nelson, http://www.JourneyAmerica.org

  16. What a great story! Best of luck!

  17. Lisa Chesser says:

    I’ll be keeping up with your blog. Putting it on my list of places to visit soon. Our family misses Virginia.

  18. CatenaTravel says:

    Reblogged this on Catena Travel and commented:
    The Journey Begins with Belle Grove Plantation’s Bed and Breakfast.   It looks like an absolutely amazing Bed and Breakfast!  I love the old yet modern look of the ‘house’ and how it makes you want to grab a book, a cup of tea and read until your eyes are tired and weary.  From someone who usually prefers a luxury hotel or resort, I would say this bed and breakfast would suit me just well.

    I would love to find a home like this when I retire and make it a place for family and friends to visit on their journeys.  Check out their blog and take a look at the image and read their story of success!  Good luck to you Belle Grove Plantation B&B.

  19. Liza says:

    Very beautiful home! Hopefully one day I’ll get to visit it in person!

  20. Jon-Paul says:

    WOW! I write and you liked it. Now I’m an official “campaigner” with a heart full of prayers for you and yours…may you find prosperity on your journey.

    • Thank you! We will really need those thoughts and prayers as we move forward toward our goal of bring this historic plantation back to life! We also look forward to seeing more of yours as well!

  21. Sailor Lady says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog, CruisingWithPhoenix.com, about our boating adventures in the Pacific Northwest. Your b&b looks awesome! Good luck and thanks for sharing your journey via your blog.

  22. iknead2knit says:

    Thanks for reading.

  23. RobynG says:

    Thanks for the “like” today! I’m enjoying all of your posts, watching your progress, and learning the history along the way!

  24. neelkanth says:

    My sincere thanks to you for a ‘Like’ on my blog. I too have ‘Liked’ yours. I am following your blog with immediate effect.

  25. Blake A. Burge says:

    Wow, Looks like an awesome place. My wife would love it.

  26. bucketdave says:

    What a great idea! I just found your blog, but I’m going to follow your project along. Good luck!

  27. What an exciting adventure. Best of luck!

  28. Nativegrl77 says:

    Thanks for stoppin by — good luck with the BB

  29. cyn1020 says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. If you like history, you should read my “Holiday” blogs. They all take a fun look at the origins of our holidays. Your house is magnificent. Perhaps my husband and I could visit someday. I would leave a copy of my short novel, BANYAN, for your library. Best wishes.

  30. This is wonderful – you have a beautiful property! Best wishes, enjoy your journey!

  31. abradbury413 says:

    Thank-you for liking my post!

    I love that you’ve taken such a risk in buying and creating a bed & breakfast, that’s what life is all about after all. The building is beautiful and I’m sure the property is goregous as well. I’ve only been to Virginia once, but I remember it vividly for its lush, rolling green hills.

    Good luck!

    • You are so welcome! Thank you for stopping by ours! We have had this dream for awhile, but it has really become a burn since we found this plantation. We are so looking forward to opening it and for a chance to meet some really wonderful people! We hope to see you sometime there as well!

  32. cielotech says:

    Absolutely beautiful. My wife and I love to travel and we love the bed and breakfast concept. I have definitely joined as a “frequent flyer” and would appreciate being on your mailing list. Many thanks, Bob J.

    • Thank you! We are excited that you have joined us as a “frequent flyer”! I love that! We encourage you to join us on our Facebook to also keep up on where we are going and what we are doing! We also hope some day to see you in person at the plantation!

  33. Madoqua says:

    You already have so many comments here, but I wanted to thank you for coming by my site and liking my posts. Mostly, though, good luck with your business, I hope it is a tremendous success. The house is lovely!

  34. Can’t wait until the day you SHARE! Very nice, and we look forward to staying there. Great story (which is what got us hooked).

  35. carmen says:

    Thank you for stopping by … the adventure of a life time ! thank you for sharing

  36. edgar62 says:

    I am editor of the church magazine and I have a feature “What Church is that?” in which I examine an old Scottish (and sometimes English) church, relate something of its background and history) I recently highlighted a church called Yester Parish Church and wrote about one of its famous sons, The Rev, John Witherspoon. John Witherspoon left Scotland, came to America in 1768 to become Professor and President of a small Presbyterian College in New Jersey – in a place called ” Princeton” He had two interesting students, one Aaron Burr and the other James Madison.

Leave a Reply

