And Life Happens

First I want to say “Happy Veterans Day” to all active and retired service members! As a former Marine and a retired Navy Corpsman, Brett and I are proud to have served this great country. We appreciate each and every person that has given of him or herself to protect the freedoms we hold so dear.

Now for the hard stuff. I was really debating on writing about the things I have been going through the last couple of days. But in thinking about it this morning, I think that it is only right to do so. I mean this is a journal of our history too. We aren’t just talking about the history of this grand plantation, but also about the journey we are on to open it.

For anyone that has opened a business, you understand that while you work so hard to get things together and get things rolling, life doesn’t just stop around you. It is how you handle those things that happen that determine your success. And I also wanted to show those that are thinking about opening a business that it isn’t always wonderful.

On Saturday evening, I received a call from a friend of my mother’s. My mother had been rushed to the hospital. They had found her wondering around her apartment complex, disorientated and unsure of where her apartment was. They thought she had had a fall. She and my stepfather live nearby at an independent living apartment. My stepfather has Alzheimer’s and this was a good place for them to be. Before I could get there, I got a second call that she was being rushed to ICU and it didn’t look good. Her heart was beating about 20-30 beats a minute. Way too slow. By 2am, she went into arrhythmia and they had to put an emergency pacemaker in.

After a night’s sleep, I returned on Sunday. They were having a hard time waking her. After a CAT scan, they discovered that she had also suffered a stroke. I stayed by her bed all day. She isn’t really responding to anyone. They had to take her down yesterday afternoon to replace the pacemaker with a second one. Before she left I held her hand and talked to her. Her eyes opened slightly and she seemed to hear me. I don’t know if she really did, but I hope so. I stayed with her all evening.

Today we face a second CAT scan to see how bad the stroke is. My two younger sisters are now on their way here from Alabama and Northern Virginia. I know that we are going to be making some hard decisions this week and I am not looking forward to them. But we will make it together and try to do what is right and what she would have wanted.

I tell you this, not to look for your sympathy, but to show that even though we have this wonderful thing happening to us, life still happens. We don’t expect these things. We try to handle it as best as we can, but we continue on this journey anyway. When we first started this journey we came up on several “pot holes” in the road. But as I said then, “If you are driving to a location and it starts to rain, you don’t turn around and go home. You turn on the window shield wipers so you can get a better view of things.” Well this isn’t a “pot hole”; it’s more of like a lane decrease that slows us down. But we aren’t stopping.

Just like those things in the newspapers that I posted about last. I wanted to document this event in our history too. Because everything that happens to us changes us in a way. It gives us a new insight or view of things.

Life just happens…………..

129 thoughts on “And Life Happens

  1. thegardensofboxwoodmanor says:

    I a m very sorry to hear this for you. My late mother, 2 brothers and I had to decide for Dad in 2007 when he had a stroke, too. We knew he didn’ t want to like like he was and put him in the hospice for a week. He passed away peacefully.

    I myself had a mini stroke in Oct. I was in that same section of the hospital and I didn’t like it one bit. Fortualtely, I know that strokes run in my family, as well as, high BP so I have taken preventative medicines and low sodium meals.

    It’s not easy to make those kind of decisions. I am praying that you will all get through this part of life.

    • I am so sorry that you too had to endure this. It isn’t something that I would wish on anyone. But to also have a stroke after dealing with one for your father. I don’t know what I would have done! Thank you so much for the prayers. It really does mean a lot to us!

  2. Jennifer says:

    ((Hugs)) to your family.

  3. Mrs. P says:

    My thoughts are with you both as you deal with this aspect of life that no one really wants to deal with but it is something which happens to all of us. I am glad to hear that you are trying to do what is right and what she wanted. I hope that you hear positive news and know that you have many friends out here in cyber world from which you can draw strength and support.

  4. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman says:

    My thoughts and prayers are also with you and your sisters. I too had some difficult decisions to make when my mother went into Kidney failure 30 yrs ago. I understand the pain you are going through, whatever you will face in the next days and weeks ahead, we are all here for you and I pray that gives you the strength you need right now. Hugs – Patty

  5. David says:

    Sending prayers and good thoughts.

  6. becky6259 says:

    There just are no words–my heart weeps for you right now. Prayers your way for you and your family.

  7. njbrown says:

    So very sorry! I’m praying for all of your family.

  8. Best wishes at this difficult time.

  9. […] is the saga of Belle Grove plantation the story of a couples dedication and drive to transform a heritage home that was the home of an […]

  10. jlee5879 says:

    Praying for you all.

  11. So sorry to hear this news…life can indeed be a challenging and painful journey at times but with determination and a positive attitude, both as expressed by yourself you can make it through the rain to a better place as it were. Sometimes when we’re following our life plan just the way we’re meant to the negatives in life work 10x harder to unseat us and throw us off track any which way they can. Stay strong and determined and my very best hopes and wishes for all of you.

  12. 😦 You’re in my thoughts and I wish you and your family all the best. Your strength and courage is astounding; we should all be so brave.

  13. So sorry to hear about your mom! Life does happen, and not always in a good way. Aging just has a way of sucking the life right out of you sometimes. Prayers and hugs…

  14. I am just getting the chance to catch up on blog posts and read what has been going on. I know this is coming late, but I am sending you many giant hugs!

Leave a comment